The Small Business Administration (SBA) has announced the state-level winners of the 2018 Small Business Person of the Year award. This award recognizes individuals who have embodied innovation, growth, and success as small business owners. This year, the SBA has selected winners from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

The Winners

  • Alabama: Peter and Linda Wissel, Wissel & Associates, LLC
  • Alaska: John Chapple & Scott Hunter, Alaska Dames, LLC
  • Arizona: Vincent Contreras, Hungrybot, LLC
  • Arkansas: Chris Foerster, Terminix of Northwest Arkansas, Inc.

Honoring Small Business Owners

The SBA is proud to honor small business owners who have made great strides economically and contributed to their communities. Each of the winners has exemplified hard work, dedication, and commitment and their award represents recognition of the contributions they have made.

“America’s entrepreneurs are the lifeblood of our economy,” said Linda McMahon, the SBA Administrator. “Their hard work and commitment to their businesses and communities embody the true American spirit.”

The state-level winners will now compete for the National Small Business Person of the Year award, which will be announced during National Small Business Week May 6 – 10, 2018.

Creating and sustaining a small business is no small task, and the SBA recognizes the extraordinary work and effort of the nation’s small business owners. We congratulate all of the state-level award winners and wish them luck as they compete for the top prize.